Manipal College of Nursing Celebrates 34th Awards and Annual Day with Prestigious Accolades

The Manipal College of Nursing (MCON), under the aegis of the Manipal Academy of Higher Education (MAHE), celebrated its 34th Awards and Annual Day on 16th February 2024 at the Dr. TMA Pai Auditorium, MAHE, Manipal. This prestigious event was marked by the presence of luminaries from the field of health and education, alongside the faculty, students, and proud parents.

The chief guest for the day, Dr. Deepika Cecil Khakha, Nursing Advisor at the Directorate General of Health Services (DGHS), Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Government of India, captivated the audience with her insightful speech. She emphasised the foundational pillars of education – diligence, perseverance, passion, and resourcefulness – as crucial for achieving excellence and reputation. She highlighted the core values of the nursing profession including compassion, professionalism, and teamwork, and stressed on resilience, adaptability, and leadership as key to success. She encouraged the graduates to be ambassadors of quality healthcare, emphasizing the importance of physical and mental well-being for effective nation building.

Dr. Sharath Kumar Rao K, Pro Vice Chancellor – Health Sciences, MAHE, Manipal, in his presidential address, lauded MCON for its significant contributions to nursing education, clinical practice, and research. He celebrated MCON’s achievement of the Number 1 ranking by Education World, acknowledging the institution’s dedication to excellence. He underlined the importance of practical skills and academic knowledge in healthcare transformation, contributing to the global recognition and acceptance of the institution’s graduates. He further highlighted the college’s commitment to innovation, excellence in education, and its role in shaping the future of healthcare. Dr. Rao also stressed the importance of continuous learning and adaptability in the rapidly evolving field of healthcare, urging the college community to embrace challenges as opportunities for growth. He urged the college to continue striving for the top, emphasizing that the journey of excellence is ongoing and filled with opportunities for further achievements.

The event also saw the recognition of meritorious students and faculty members. Ms. Maitrayee Sen was honoured as the ‘Best Outgoing Student’ from the BSc Nursing batch of 2019 – 2023, a title she shared with Ms. Neha Noronha for securing the first rank. Faculty members, Mr. Anil Raj and Mrs. Manjula were awarded the Good Teacher Awards for the academic year 2022-23, while Mr. Renjulal Yashodharan received the most accomplished faculty award for 2023.

Dr. Tessy Treesa Jose -Associate Dean and Dr. Judith A Noronha-Dean, MCON MAHE, Manipal, played pivotal roles in the proceedings, with the former welcoming the dignitaries and the latter presenting the annual report of MCON. Mr. Nikhil Castelino, President of the Student Nurses Association (SNA), highlighted the vibrant student participation throughout the year.

The formal function concluded on a high note with a multicultural entertainment program that showcased the rich diversity and creativity of the MCON community. Mrs. Soumya Christabel extended a vote of thanks to everyone involved in the success of the event, with Mrs. Mitchelle Shilpa Lewis excellently compering the programme.


Leave a Reply